Three Things To Avoid Doing While Pregnant

I am by no means an expert in life or motherhood, but if I were to two give pregnant women of the world (or women considering becoming pregnant in the near future) one bit of advice, it would be to avoid these three things for at least a FULL YEAR (you heard me..) after having a baby:

  1. Move Cross Country
  2. Buy A Home
  3. Make Major Career Decisions

If you’re anything like me, you’re probably thinking “..but I’m pregnant; not disabled.” That’s true. Just trust me when I say that you will not be in the mental state to handle any of the aforementioned monumental life decisions within your first year of parenthood and to do so will leave you picking up the pieces of your decisions thereafter.

Not one to listen to good advice, I did all three of these things within the first year of having a baby, two of them within the first three months, all of which pretty much leave me where I am today: unemployed and in therapy.

Don’t get me wrong- I have a lot to be thankful for, and I am lucky to have this opportunity to slow down and learn something… to fix this mess that I’ve made of my career and the mess that currently constitutes my post-partum emotions.

Here, on the eve of turning 30, the future of my life is pretty uncertain.. but I’ve got the feeling we may be on the verge of realizing something amazing.

Leave a Reply

