Another botched job application

Literally, for as long as I can remember, I’ve wanted to work for the Public Defender. That’s basically why I went to law school. As life and luck would have it, I’ve never been able to get a job there. Not for lack of trying, either. I’ve applied to three (four?) positions there at various times over the last several years, without any measurable success. I did manage to get an interview for one of the positions while I was living in Chicago. We did the interview via Skype and I did not end up getting the job.

This week, I applied to several more jobs with the OPD, one of which was part of their giant fall recruitment. I’ve only applied to specially advertised positions there in the past, and this is my first time putting my name in the ring for general recruitment. I felt like this was my best chance yet…

Until I re-read the applicant essay I submitted and realized I made a mistype that renders a sentence in my essay awkward and inappropriate… Oops.

Sigh.

Leave a Reply

